Winter Wreath

7 Jan

I have been woefully art deficient these past few months (the holidays were beyond difficult this year), but I did pull together a winter wreath. It’s my first wreath ever!

Born out of a desire to keep my husband from putting something store bought (like the fake velvet bows I caught him ogling) on the door, I pulled out an old book*, some paint, a dash of glitter and a lot of hot glue. Nine million paper feathers later, I added some deep red feathers and faux winterberry from the craft store.

*Disclaimer: The only books harmed in the making of this project were ones that no person should ever, ever have to read.

2 Responses to “Winter Wreath”

  1. Sandy Ward - North Carolina January 7, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    Brilliant!

    The very first thought that popped into my head was Coco Chanel. I wasn’t sure why – I’d seen a rather good movie from Netflix about her last summer, but couldn’t remember many feathers. So I googled (see page 15):

    http://books.google.com/books?id=ZIR5rHilFSMC&pg=PA15&lpg=PA15&dq=coco+chanel+feathers&source=bl&ots=2o6lMCJJ0r&sig=LeW5iztfxj1_FOTNjgEQdREYHiQ&hl=en#v=onepage&q=coco%20chanel%20feathers&f=false

    Your feathers did no harm! And Coco has nothing on your talent and sense of style.

    More, please.
    smw

    • Megan January 7, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      Oh my goodness! I hadn’t even *thought* of that hat – and it’s one of my favorites of all time, too. Thank you for the praise – you are far too generous!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

