Of Weddings… and Cake Pops!

27 Sep

If you’ve read my scintillating bio, you know that I’m already married.

So why am I writing about weddings?

Here’s the thing. I am married. And our wedding was, in its own way, wonderful – all the important people were there, and of course, I was marrying my husband.

But, it was a rush-to-the-courthouse wedding, to be sure. The Boy got orders to PCS to Okinawa (for those of you who don’ t know, PCS=Permanent Change of Station) — for three years. The only way for me to go with him was for us to get married like, yesterday. So that’s what we did.

But we agreed that we really wanted to have a “real” wedding later, one with our entire families and perhaps a bit more style. And about the same budget.

Which is why I’m planning planning planning. (Translation: collecting zillions of ideas and hoping to some day sort it all into an actual wedding.)

I’ve been thinking a lot about the cake…. or not-cake, that I want.

Lately, I’m thinking of cake pops. And maybe a sweets table? Kind of like this:

Sandy a la Mode

via Sandy a la Mode

It was the color that originally caught my eye, but I’ve also been loving the current trend of uber-colorful candy bars at weddings.

Crafty Ginger Cake Pops

via Crafty Ginger

I think I am in love with the color on these Crafty Ginger pops more than anything!

Treatbox

via Treatbox

And these hearts from Treatbox are just plain cute. They also seem immensely do-able, which is appealing, since we are doing almost everything ourselves.

Bakerella

via Bakerella

And finally, of course Bakerella would be included! I cannot even begin to express the degree to which I am smitten with these pops. AND, because she is ridiculously generous, she shared instructions for making them over on her blog.

I love these as is, but I think I want to do something much more graphic with the color. Our wedding theme is (tentatively) Hardcore for the Heartcore, which was kind of the theme of our courtship. We bonded over music, hardcore and punk especially, and we really want to bring that into the wedding.

What do you think? Are pops + sweets a suitable replacement for a giant cake?

What kind of pops would you make?

Leave a Reply

