A Little Something I’ve Been Working On…

11 Dec

At long last, my Etsy shop is populated!

I’ve been trying to finish this painting for about 3 months. It seemed like every time I thought I’d carved out time to work on it, something else laid claim to the moment.

Why did it take so long, you ask? Besides life just generally getting in the way, the painting has so many layers and materials that it sometimes took 3 days just to finish one section. It’s a small piece, just about 4×7 inches, but is loaded with detail. I love it so much I almost didn’t want to list it!

Here she is:

Excuse Me, There's a Bee In Your Halo

I was inspired by Elbert Hubbard’s quote: “Every saint has a bee in his halo.” (Don’t worry, he’s no relation to crazy old L Ron.) Hubbard was quite influential in the American arts & crafts movement – and, incidentally died in the torpedoing of the Lusitania not long after the start of World War I.

So there’s your Jeopardy fact for the day!

Head over to my Etsy shop if you are interested in buying the piece, and if you aren’t, then just tell me what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

