Living Mario Bros. Piranha Chomper Plant – Tutorial!

30 Dec

Mario Brothers Piranha PlantNow that Christmas is over and gifts have been given, I can finally start revealing some of the things I’ve been working on the past few months! I’m so excited!

One of the most loved gifts went to my sister, who lives for 80s nostalgia (even more than I!) – and if it’s anything Nintendo-related, she’s all the more thrilled.

Last year she got Tetris soaps and a Koopa hat.

This year: living piranha chomper plant!

Want to see how I did it?

 

 

 

Mario Plant Materials1. Gather your materials

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 six-inch flower pot, black or painted black
  • 1 five-inch length of PVC pipe (or 2 segments)
  • 1 piece PVC pipe joint connector
  • Green spray paint (I used Krylon for plastics)
  • Your favorite epoxy
  • 1 large venus flytrap paint
  • Potting soil
  • 1 cup pea gravel

Mario Brothers Piranha Plant2. Get ready to paint your PVC

  • If you are using separate pieces of pipe, like I did, you’ll need to epoxy everything together before painting.
  • I used the Krylon Fusion paint, which didn’t require priming. Any other paint will need a primer because that PVC is capital-S Slippery!

Super Mario Bros Piranha Plant

3. Spray paint your pipe

  • Even though I didn’t need primer, it still took about three coats to achieve the color I wanted, so plan on having a littl extra wait time on your hands
  • It’s super easy to get too much paint on the pipe – make sure you are doing pretty light, even passes with the can to avoid drips

Super Mario Bros Pirhana Plant

4. Assemble everything

  • Layer the pea gravel in the bottom of the pot to aid in drainage (flytraps like bogs, but will damp off if things are too swampy)
  • Add potting soil to the lip of the flowerpot
  • Nestle the pipe down into the soil until it’s sitting firmly in place. Pack soil around the pipe.
  • Fill the pipe with soil, leaving room at the top for the soil and moss that comes with the flytrap
  • Plant the flytrap, making sure to get all that good peat moss in there (it’s going to help maintain a moisture balance)

That’s it! You’re done!

I think this is the perfect geek/gamer present – next year everyone might get one!

12 Responses to “Living Mario Bros. Piranha Chomper Plant – Tutorial!”

  1. Natalie January 1, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    This is so cute! I’m making it for my son’s birthday. He’s a Mario freak. One question, did you have to sand the top of the “pipe”? It looks a little rough in the third picture. Thanks!

    • Megan January 2, 2011 at 7:14 am #

      I didn’t sand anything – I think it looks a little uneven due to the cuts in the pipe from the manufacturer. So to get it perfectly smooth you could prime or sand it lightly before moving ahead with the green.

  2. Rae January 1, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Why has no one commented and told you how awesome this is? Well I just did because I’m definitely making one this week! Thanks for the great idea 😀

    • Megan January 2, 2011 at 7:13 am #

      Oh, thank you! I’m so glad you like it – have a ton of fun making yours!

  3. Jen @ das sushi January 1, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Oh I LOVE this! My son would squeal if I made one of these for his room. So, I guess I better get started…

    • Megan January 2, 2011 at 7:12 am #

      Make one – it is so easy and fun!

  4. iampotassium January 3, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    This is amazing! I should do this with my venus fly trap! 😀

  5. Michelle January 21, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Oh.My.Gawd.
    You are genius personified!

    Now I need to check out that DIY lightbox tutorial I see below…

  6. Colleen April 10, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    AMAZING! I have to do this, but I think I’ll do it with flowers until my son gets a little older. 😉

  7. Amelia December 15, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    This is awesome! Where did you find the Venus Fly Trap plant?

    • Megan February 22, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      you can generally find them at lowe’s (the home improvement store) – they are inside usually, with other succulents and cacti.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A DIY Christmas « e&bbrewerylofts - December 18, 2011

    […] A perfect, easy gift for any geek or Nintendo fan in your life! This innovative present utilizes a Venus flytrap to replicate the classic Mario Brothers symbol. You can find the detailed instructions here. […]

Leave a Reply

