Details of New Orleans

31 Oct

Around this time last year, my husband and I were strolling the streets of New Orleans. It was my first time there, and though I didn’t see nearly everything I wanted to, I soaked in as many details as I could.

I found myself most taken by color and architectural features in the French Quarter. Everything caught my eye, from shiny and new to old and chipped. Colors, both brilliant and muted, popped out at me from every turn.

So I thought I’d share just a few of my favorites with you. All the rest will be posted on my Flickr, if you want to check them out.

A peek into one of the many alleyways of the Quarter

Gorgeous color on a set of plantation shutters

So much has eroded in the ignored sections of the Quarter

The ordinary things were the most beautiful

The city still stands

3 Responses to “Details of New Orleans”

  1. KatiesCameraBlog October 31, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    I love old details like this, and New Orleans is a treasure trove of such things. Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

    • Megan October 31, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Thanks for looking – it was so hard not to post everything!

      • Anne November 1, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

        Love all of these. I’ll look at the others on flickr.

Leave a Reply

