Experimenting With Sisal

9 Jan

File under: things that I thought would work, but totally didn’t.

I have it stuck in my head that I’m going to crochet a giant rug. There are various designs floating around my sketchbook, all of which seem workable – once I find the perfect material.

If I had unlimited means, I’d have my own sheep and be able to spin my own custom, giant yarn. Since this is not the case, I’m trying a few more readily available materials.

First on the block is sisal, which is available in fairly big spools at any big box hardware store. At about $7 per 100 feet, it’s a good deal.

And it looks really pretty on my blue crochet hook:

There are a couple of problems with crocheting sisal – and they probably should have sprung to mind before I even started, but my idealism won out.

First, splinters. My hands are in agony after just a few hours of playing with it. I spent probably twice that time tweezing daggers out of my fingers.

Second, it’s just too stiff. It’s perfectly flexible, and doubles back on itself with no problem, but because there is no elasticity, it is impossible to move beyond the first chain. And even that just looked sloppy.

So, the sisal will have to be used in another way (I’m thinking of channeling some very 70s table trivets) and I’m moving on to the next material for the crochet rug.

3 Responses to “Experimenting With Sisal”

  1. Anne January 9, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    It certainly did make for an interesting and beautiful photograph so all is certainly not lost! Good to see you back into the craft scene.

  2. Mit May 4, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    You can get cotton rope in large sizes (check https://www.knotandrope.com/store/pc/Cotton-Rope-c6.htm).

  3. Mit May 4, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    oh and if you need a softer material try unlaying a larger size rope into strands. The hard nylon and polypro ropes you find at the hardware store? When unlaid you will find they are actually formed of rather soft yarns. Big problem knotters have is keeping these rope from unraveling and going all limp.

Leave a Reply

