Angry Owl Sketch

12 Jan

Ready for a peek inside the sketch book?

This is just a quick owl inked over a watercolor background. He’s far from perfect, but I like him that way.

I love to use my books as places to pour out ideas for larger projects. It lets me get a feel for what I’m doing and work through any potential issues. And I love having a record of all my mistakes!

2 Responses to “Angry Owl Sketch”

  1. Sandy Ward - North Carolina January 13, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    The background makes me drool. All my colors and mixtures. Then comes the owl, with her feathers almost like precious armor. And yes, I read the owl as an outraged, but plucky female. Plucky as in feisty, not feathery, but that’s another story. Binocular vision, of course. I’ll send an email anon. You can post it, or not. Meanwhile, I love your work!
    Sandy

    • Megan January 14, 2012 at 11:59 am #

      I’m so glad you saw the armor, too! I think I’d like to try several versions of this.

Leave a Reply

