Project Graveyard

13 Jul

This is basically how my creative process works: I get completely enamored and obsessed with an idea. Usually it’s something a little out of my depth and complicated/time consuming. So I start with great gusto, only to set the project aside, because a new one has already caught my eye. Those projects gather dust for a time, and then maybe I start them again.

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

So prepare yourselves, because I am about to reveal the results of my sloth.

Project 1


I started this behemoth almost two years ago, while we were still in Florida. This is meant to be a shelving unit comprised of different sized boxes. So I brought it to Vegas, and then it sat in the garage for a year. Then I dragged it out and painted some stuff. And now it’s sitting, just like this, in the middle of the kitchen.

Project 2

This is a vintage train case that was in pretty shabby (yes, shabbier than this) condition. I dug it out of the back room of this weird guy’s antiques/junk shop. He didn’t even know he had it, and sold it to me for basically nothing. However, no amount of cleaning could get the grime off the outside and the “satin” inside needed replacing – but there was a lovely little mirror with cool corner details. I got as far as pulling out the insides so that I could make templates for a new lining. I sanded the hardware down to get rid of the rust, and I even bought new fabric for the inside. Then I painted on a layer of gesso and…. Well, you can see. This also happens to be sitting in a pile of studio crap that I have yet to sort.

Project 3

This is the sisal mat I began this spring. I got all those coils made and then realized the smell of tar wasn’t ever going to come out, and I wouldn’t be able to use it in the house. I ordered the new, untreated sisal, and promptly left it in the pile.

Project 4

Two guesses where this project is currently living. Screw it, you only need one. The gnomes have nothing to do with the project, in case you are wondering. I found this awesome vintage table at a Goodwill in Florida for $5. You can see it’s not in perfect condition – some of the brass caps are missing from the legs, and it’s definitely been dinged a bit. The idea was to paint it an amazing, intense robin’s egg blue, then adhere an image to it, so it would have a really graphic feel to it. Maybe it will be done by Christmas. Maybe.

Project 5

Another Goodwill find (there is actually a companion suitcase in the garage). I can’t even remember what I was going to use this for, only that I was going to make a dog bed out of the other one.

These are not the only projects in my graveyard, but five is enough to put out there, right? You don’t need to see the rest of my humiliation. But oh, please tell me I am not the only one who does this!

10 Responses to “Project Graveyard”

  1. Anne July 13, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    You are definitely NOT the only one with an assortment of abandoned projects. I shudder to think how long some of mine have been languishing in the closet, in the drawer, in the garage, in the attic…I should check the trunk of my car!

    • Cathy Guske July 13, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Hi, my name is Cathy, and I have abandoned projects….
      You are so not alone! Some of mine are even stored in lovely rubbermaid containers… Yes, I spend time organizing my abandoned projects. Sick, I tell you, sick!

      • Megan July 13, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

        i love that you organize them! i should maybe consider that a little.

    • Megan July 13, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      phew! they really do get strewn around, don’t they?

  2. Stacy @ Stacyverb July 13, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Oh boy, I definitely have a bunch of these. Luckily, most of mine are yarn/fabric/bead related, so they don’t take up much space. At work, it’s not uncommon for customers to come in looking for yarn to complete a project they started years or DECADES ago. You are not alone!

    • bibliomichelle July 21, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      Yeah, all of my unfinished projects are/were knitting-related. You are so not alone. I love that you laid it all out here — I’m all rah rah rah with new projects, but in the past had a hard time following through with them. This is what I fear if I start knitting again!

      • Megan July 22, 2012 at 9:10 am #

        dave makes fun of me sometimes – usually when i want to bring home another giant space-taking thing to “work” on. he’s probably right to do so. i am going to try to commit to finishing one a month!

        • bibliomichelle July 22, 2012 at 9:15 am #

          Are you going to blog the follow-ups?

          • Megan July 23, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

            i was just thinking about that this weekend, while i gathered supplies to finish the sisal mat! maybe this will give me the kick in the pants to get them all done?

          • bibliomichelle July 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

            That’s what I was wondering. 🙂

Leave a Reply

