New Papercut

24 Aug

My mother-in-law’s birthday is coming up, and I am unable to be there for the big celebration, which just stinks. But at least I can send my husband over with a little gift.

This is papercut is kind of unusual in that it is brand new to me – I’ve never before used vellum, and this is my first go at a multi-layer cut. I only have the top layer done so far – but you can see what I hope to do with the rest of it.

And for those of you who might wonder: this is the Cape Hatteras lighthouse, in North Carolina.

I hope to have this completed by the end of the weekend, so keep an eye out!

4 Responses to “New Papercut”

  1. Sandy August 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    I love this! And I love Cape Hatteras. Can’t wait to see what you do next. I am in an online art journaling class and the moderator sends us snail mail prompts and papers and all sorts. She has sent a sheet of vellum twice and I didn’t know what to do with it. I am beginning to get the idea after looking at your work, so will watch with anticipation – both because I love your work and because I need help!
    Sandy

    • Megan August 24, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      Thank you! I just hope I can pull it off – vellum always makes me nervous because I feel like it shows every flaw. One thing I used to do with it, that you might also like, is to stamp it with an interesting stamp, and then ink it with Prismacolor markers – when you flip it over, the colors are very soft, like a watercolor.

  2. Steph August 25, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    This is an awesome idea, Megan!!!! She’s going to LOVE it! 🙂

    • Megan August 25, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

      Don’t say anything, just in case I screw it up at the last second!

Leave a Reply

